The Kamakura Annex, which opened in 1984, is about a 350 meter walk in the direction of Kita-Kamakura from the former Kamakura Museum (closed in March 2016). The designer was Masato Otaka (1923-2010). The design has been devised to blend in with the residential area nestled between the mountains. The museum reopened on October 12, 2019 after being closed for over 30 years, and for about two years to renovate its facilities and improve customer service. The walls of the exhibition room have been renovated, and a cafe space has been added to the terrace facing the sculpture garden to improve accessibility.
(Photo: Keizo Kioku)