コンテンツにスキップ
藝術/攝影

格雷戈爾·施耐德專訪

Interview with Gregor Schneider

採訪:Haruo Kobayashi 文:Akiko Inoue 照片:Masanobu Nishino

2014橫濱三年展自8月1日開幕以來,遊客絡繹不絕。場館的停車場出現了一個不尋常的空間。:《GERMAN ANGST》。這是德國藝術家Gregor Schneider(生於1969年4月5日,於) Rheydt) 第一次到橫濱市時,施耐德12歲開始創作,16歲舉辦第一次個展,2001年獲第49屆威尼斯金獅獎雙年展(他的作品 Totes Haus ur 在德國館展出)。他的作品經常提醒觀眾黑色,與“死亡”、“黑暗”或“陰影”相關聯。值得注意的是,他獨特的創作方式創造空間和對無形事物的特殊堅持是他作品的特點。

MAGCUL.NET 在橫濱工作展覽期間與施耐德會面,談論他的傑作之一《Haus ur 1985-today》 (* 1) ,該作品仍在進行中,並可能在藝術家的一生,並討論新作品的想法和靈感,以及在世界各地不同場所展出的其他作品。以下是他對橫濱另類藝術空間 blanClass 的藝術家/總監小林春夫的採訪。

― 這是我第一次看到你的作品。我在各種網站和其他來源看到並閱讀了你的作品,我剛剛在地下看到了你的全新作品。我想問你幾個包括你為三年展創作新作品的經驗。

出生在煤礦小鎮

― 首先,我和你差不多大。雖然文化背景不同,但我確實對你對“房間”的態度感到某種同情。我想你所經歷的那段時間可能與你對房間的態度。你怎麼看?

當然,我在德國萊特的一個煤礦小鎮長大這一事實確實對我有影響。那裡有很多失業者。還有空置的房子……整個小鎮對我來說就像一個atelier,一個創造事物的地方。我的第一幅作品《Haus ur 1985-today》就是在一個類似於美國底特律的環境和氛圍中誕生的。

過去90%的萊特城在世界大戰後被摧毀。但是進進出出的人很多,而且區域一直在變化。他們在那裡用巨大的機器挖地,有時他們被摧毀他們用巨大的機器在地下挖掘,有時他們摧毀了一個村莊,並在那裡創造了一個全新的地方。煤礦開採比以往任何戰爭都摧毀了更多。

我家是第5代擁有一家鉛廠,有好幾棟樓已經不用了. 這對每個人來說都很常見......我的意思是,你在被與你的環境有關的某些原因觸發後開始做某事。

― 對我來說,無論是在城市還是在城鎮,房子的房間都是為了將某物與其他事物分開而建造的。但是你一直在做的是建造嵌套結構,在牆上分層,在房間內創建另一個分隔的房間......你能不能告訴我們你對這些房間的這種做法?

對我來說,最重要的技術是在現有房間的內部或旁邊建造一個房間的複製品。我在臥室中建造臥室,在廚房中建造廚房,在兒童房中建造兒童房……直到今天才這樣做。

格雷戈爾施耐德

現在讓我們來看看<< HAUS ur >> 的一些房間。

豪斯你
ur1
u24 FLUR
u30 特雷彭豪斯
u25 GROBE WEIBE TUR

這些不是建築空間,而是現有房屋中房間的複製品,作為藝術品創作。對我來說,最重要的是在現有房間內創建一個完整的複製品。我不只是分割房間,但是我複制了所有的房間,包括牆壁、地板、天花板。所以這些房間就像一個洋蔥。你剝去洋蔥皮,然後你會發現另一層皮。而且,遊客不必承認這一點。

——也就是說,房間是獨立存在的,是在概念層面上存在的?

這取決於每個作品。我創建的房間可以使用,並在現實生活中發揮作用。當我製作複製品時,我複制了形式和功能。在 << HAUS ur >> 你有自來水和臥室你可以在那裡過夜。你實際上可以住在那裡。

還有一個房間叫做《KAFFEEZIMMER》=TURNING COFFEE ROOM,這個房間內置了一個隱形的旋轉機構,當遊客坐下來喝杯咖啡時它會旋轉一圈。離開房間,他們沒有註意到他們旋轉了一次。

ur10 咖啡廳

例如,另一幅作品的天花板上升和下降 5 厘米,速度非常緩慢(需要 45 分鐘)。

對我來說最重要的概念是,在一個房間裡建造一個房間,在一個現有的房間裡重複建造一個副本。然後,從裡面,你再也看不到原來的房間了,因為它就像被層覆蓋了一樣洋蔥。你不再想房間了。

——那種“剝洋蔥”的感覺——你是說它發生在來訪者的腦海裡嗎?

嗯,我說不上來,因為每個人的感受不一樣。《HAUS ur》從外面看好像就是一個普通的房子。所以碰巧有一天,一個男人來賣我保險。我有一個一個對我的工作一無所知的訪客,我和她一起喝咖啡和蛋糕。她什麼都沒注意到就離開了。但實際上他們是在那個被藝術品包圍的房間裡度過的。

我自己也是這樣,我住在《HAUS ur》的隔熱房間裡,過著平凡的生活。同時,我不斷地改造,改變房間,最後我自己也不知道是什麼了。原來的房間 第二天,你不知道你把那塊石頭放在哪裡了,因為牆前有一面牆。第二天,你不再知道你把那塊石頭放在哪裡了,因為前面有一堵牆一堵牆。情況,周圍太複雜了,你看。

ur12, TOTAL ISOLIERTES GASTE ZIMMER

可見/不可見,可識別/不可識別

伊姆克恩

格雷戈爾施耐德

比如這個房間後面有一個梯子,但是看不到,你自己放的,你也看不到了。

― 即使這個房間沒有被認為是一件藝術品,你也一定有什麼東西試圖吸引來訪者。它是什麼?

好吧,這裡的問題是,可見/不可見,可識別/不可識別。在房間內建造的房間是可見的,但無法識別。這意味著,您“看到”它是一個普通房間,但不要“識別” ” “作為一件藝術品,所以存在差距。我的作品非常複雜。每個參觀者的情況不同,每個參觀者對房間都有自己的想法。我只能說參觀者會被引導走動在我的作品中,問自己:“這算不算藝術作品了?”到頭來,關於藝術的問題就沒有了!生活和藝術的區別已經不存在了。

― 您如何看待“房間”作為藝術品?

比如看畫,站在作品前,看雕塑,繞著它們走。後面有些是肉眼看不到的,那是有區別的從 1985 年開始製作 << HAUS ur >> 開始,我一直在研究這個,複製、增加牆壁和房間。

而對於2001 年威尼斯雙年展(* 2) ,我已經拆除了我在家鄉萊特製作的 << HAUS ur >> 的一些部分,並將其搬到另一個地方,威尼斯,進行重建。

―到目前為止,我已經了解了您關於可見/不可見、可識別/不可識別以及您的作品如何影響參觀者的基本概念。現在我的問題是:您的每件作品是否都暗示了不同的東西?

我的第一個建築作品《HAUS ur》是從非常個人的行動開始的,我實際上住在那個房子裡。但似乎從威尼斯雙年展開始,我的作品也開始包含社會和政治方面。

死亡

——你如何看待“死亡”?

我認為這是一個科學問題。

有一個作品叫《TOTER RAUM (= DEAD SPACE)》,“Tot”在德語中的意思是“死亡”,這裡的德文標題中包含了“隱藏空間”作為建築術語的意思,所以它的意思是空間是“非” -accessible ”,“ no-exit ”或“ dead-end ”。

托特·拉姆

我建造了一個“死空間”,就像建造臥室、廚房或浴室一樣。對我來說,“死空間”不是一個特殊的房間,而是一個與其他房間一樣存在的房間。

我想說的是,沒有什麼能把生活和藝術分開。你可以住在一個房間裡,你也可以在那個房間裡死去。死亡是生命的最後過程,它是生命的一部分。對我來說,死亡是一個雕塑的過程,是我們每個人一生都必鬚麵對的挑戰。

― 那麼您是否將您的作品視為您自己的世界?

不,不完全是一個世界。我的作品是一個構建的作品,它是三維的,具體的。對我來說,如果沒有構建,藝術品就不存在。所以它不是一個“世界”,但它是我一直在努力和構建的東西。否則,我不會稱它為藝術品。

建築是一種接近未知的方式

我建了一個房間,叫做“WHITE TORTURE ROOM”。

通道
高安全性和隔離單元

我根據關塔那摩灣美國秘密監獄 5 (* 3)的圖像創建了這個房間。由於嚴格的安全措施,無法進入實際監獄,我從互聯網上收集了信息。一直在嘗試創造我不理解的東西或我無法進入的房間。

通過這樣做,我了解了它是如何製作的。當我第二次製作某個東西時,我會清楚為什麼我會做我第一次製作時所做的事情。

你可以看到關塔那摩監獄的照片,但你不能進去。所以,作為一個雕塑家,我接近它的唯一方法就是根據我掌握的信息建造一個複製品。

― 建構對你意味著什麼?和思考一樣嗎?

對我來說,建造是我完成自我的方法之一,也是理解事物的過程。我創作了一個作品<<CUBE>>,靈感來自天房(*5)的建築(*4 ) . 通過這種體驗,我可以有一種站在黑色石頭前的身體體驗。這就是我接近完全未知和不可理解的事物的方式。在這種情況下,加倍讓參觀者反思。

立方體漢堡 2007

——你為什麼要在隱藏的地方做裝置?為什麼要讓你展示的東西不可見?你這樣做是因為無論如何都不可能讓所有人都看到一切嗎?

好吧,我不能籠統地回答這個問題,因為每件作品都是不同的。對我來說,作品原樣存在。僅此而已。

2014年橫濱三年展裝置

― 剛剛在地下停車場看到你的裝置,我覺得你的作品比你以前的作品給我們一種更“封閉”的感覺。

嗯,對我來說也是,這個作品和我以前的作品不同,這次是新的。

據2014年橫濱三年展藝術總監森村康政介紹,本屆橫濱三年展的主題是“遺忘”,你在地下室的作品中是否有與“遺忘”這個詞相關的東西?

我不知道我在地下室的工作是否與“遺忘”有關,因為我這次的工作對我來說也是全新的。此外,像往常一樣,工作會自己吸收。自從開始創作總是一個本能的過程,有很多我自己不明白的事情。換句話說,我在做我不知道的事情。對我來說,我在橫濱這裡,再次創造一些東西也很有趣。抽象的。

● 德國的焦慮

我做了一個24小時都可以進入的空間,除了普通的入口外,還有一個專門的入口。很難創造這樣的空間,因為一般博物館都是用來展示繪畫或照片的。但它也是有趣的是,我體驗了在實現那種項目的過程中出現的衝突。

至於這次的裝置,我想參觀者在博物館空間的一部分的地下停車場——一個展覽用的白色立方體,去看看這個裝置,黑暗而充滿泥土,這將是一次有趣的體驗,並且能夠進入泥濘並行走。

格雷戈爾施耐德

<註釋>
* 1 1985 年,他開始在他父母在萊特擁有的一棟公寓樓中拆除和重建房間,而他實際上住在那所房子裡。

* 2 Gregor Schneider 在第 49 屆威尼斯雙年展上獲得一等獎(“金獅獎”)。

* 3 美國陸軍戰俘營位於古巴東南部的關塔那摩灣。在布什總統的領導下,自 2002 年 1 月以來,它一直被用作恐怖分子嫌疑人的營地,並收留在阿富汗或伊拉克被捕的人。它以殘暴的酷刑行為而聞名,已成為國際人權問題。

* 4 來自世界各地的穆斯林祈禱的古老石頭建築。

* 5 伊斯蘭教在麥加最神聖的清真寺

翻譯:市村紀惠

相關文章

Loading...

MAGCUL マグカル

「マグカル・ドット・ネット」は、神奈川県内のアート・カルチャー情報を発信するサイトです。
「マグカル・ドット・ネット」は、神奈川県内のアート・カルチャー情報を発信するサイトです。
神奈川県では、文化芸術の魅力で人を引きつけ、地域のにぎわいをつくり出す、マグネット・カルチャー(マグカル)の取組を推進しています。
(別ウィンドウで開きます。)
Interview with Gregor Schneider
美術・写真
2014.10.06

Interview with Gregor Schneider

Interview : Haruo Kobayashi     Text : Akiko Inoue     Photo : Masanobu Nishino

Yokohama Triennale 2014 has been crowded with visitors since its opening on August 1. In the parking lot of the venue appears an unusual space.:《GERMAN ANGST》. It is the new work of German artist Gregor Schneider (born 5 April 1969, in Rheydt) which he made on his first visit to the City of Yokohama.Schneider started creating artwork at the age of 12, and had his first solo exhibition when he was 16.In 2001, he was awarded the Golden Lion at the 49th Venice Biennale (for his work Totes Haus u r exhibited at the German Pavilion).His works often remind the viewers the color black , which is associated with “death”, “darkness” or“shadow” .It should be noted that his unique way of creating spaces and specific persistence to invisibles characterize his works.

MAGCUL.NET met with Schneider while he was in Yokohama working on the exhibition, to talk about one of his masterpieces <<Haus u r 1985-today>> (※1), which is still in progress, and likely to develop during the artist’s lifetime, and to also discuss the ideas and inspirations for the new work as well as other works that have been presented at various venues all over the world. Following is his interview with Haruo Kobayashi, artist/director of an alternative artspace blanClass in Yokohama.

― This is the first time that I get to see your work. I saw and read about your works on various websites and other sources, and I have just seen your brand-new work on the underground. I would like to ask you about several points including your experience with your new work for the Triennale.

Born in a coal-mining town

― First of all, I am about the same age as you. Though our cultural backgrounds are different, I did feel some sort of sympathy for your approach to “rooms”. I imagine that the period you have been through has something to do with your attitude towards rooms. What do you think?

Certainly, the fact I have been brought up in a coal-mining town Rheydt, Germany, does have influence on me. There were a lot of unemployed people there. And there were houses that were empty…the whole town was for me like an atelier, a place to work on creating things. It was how my first artwork 《Haus u r 1985-today》was born, from an environment and atmosphere that are kind of similar to Detroit, in the US.

In the past 90 per cent from the city Rheydt were destroyed after world war. But there has been a lot of people in and out, and the area has been continuously changing. There they dug in the ground with a huge machine, sometimes they destroyed a village and created a whole new place there.  They dug in the ground with a huge machine, sometimes they destroyed a village and created a whole new place there. The coal mining destroyed more than any war before.

My family is the 5th generation to own a lead factory, and there were several buildings that were no longer in use. But he could not just get rid of those buildings, so they remained there. That’s how I started to construct 《HAUS u r》. It is common to everyone… I mean, you start doing something after being triggered by certain causes that have to do with your environment.

― To me, rooms of a house, in cities or in town, are built to divide something from other things.But what you have been doing is constructing nested structures, layering walls on walls, creating another divided room inside a room… Could you tell us about this approach of yours to those rooms?

For me, the most important technique is to build a replica of a room inside or next to the existing room. I build a bedroom in a bedroom, a kitchen in a kitchen, a childrens’ room in a children’s room…… I have been doing this until today.

Gregor Schneider

Now let’s take a look at some rooms of the 《HAUS u r》.

HAUS ur

ur1

u24 FLUR

u30 TREPPENHAUS

u25 GROBE WEIBE TUR

These are not architectural spaces, but are facsimiles of rooms-within-rooms in the existing house, created as artworks. For me the most important thing is to create a complete replica inside the existing room. I don’t just split the rooms, but I duplicate all the rooms, including walls, floor, ceilings. So those rooms are like an onion. You peel away skins of an onion, then you find another layer of skins. And, visitors don’t have to acknowledge that.

― That means, the rooms are standing on their own, and exist on a conceptual level?

It depends on each work. The rooms I create can be used, and function in a real-life situation. When I make replicas, I duplicate both the form and the function. At 《HAUS u r》 you have running water and bedrooms where you can stay overnight. You can actually live there.

And there is a room called 《KAFFEEZIMMER》=TURNING COFFEE ROOM. This room has an invisible rotating mechanism built into it, and it makes one revolution while visitors sit down and have a cup of coffee. But the room rotates so slowly that when they leave the room, they don’t notice that they rotated once right round.

ur10 KAFFEEZUMMER

Another work, for example, has a ceiling that rises and falls 5cm unnoticeably slowly (taking 45 minutes).

The most important concept for me is, to construct a room inside a room, and to repeatedly construct replicas inside an existing one. Then, from inside, you can’t see the original room anymore, since it is like being covered by the layer of an onion. And you don’t think about a room anymore.

― That feeling of “peeling an onion” – are you saying that it occurs inside the visitor’s head?

Well, I can’t tell because everyone has different feelings.《HAUS u r》seems to be just a normal house when you look at it from outside. So it happened that one day, a man came to sell me insurance. I had a visitor who knew nothing about my work, and I had coffee and cake with her. She left without noticing anything. But actually they were spending time in that room surrounded by artworks.

The same thing can be said about myself. I lived in insulated rooms of 《HAUS u r》and lived an ordinary life. Meanwhile, I kept on reconstructing, making changes to the rooms. Finally I myself didn’t know anymore what the original room was like. For example, I build a black stone, a red stone, a blue stone into a wall. The next day, you don’t know anymore where you put that stone because there is a wall in front of a wall. The situation, the surrounding is just too complicated, you see.

ur12,TOTAL ISOLIERTES GASTEZIMMER

Visible / invisible, recognizable / non-recognizable

IM KERN

Gregor Schneider

For instance, there is a ladder behind this room. But it is not visible. You have put it there by yourself, but you can’t see it anymore.

― Even if the room doesn’t get recognized as a work of art, there must be something with which you are trying to reach the visitors. What is it?

Well, the question here is, visible / invisible, recognizable / non-recognizable. A room built inside a room is visible, but non-recognizable. That means, you “see” it as a normal room, but don't “recognize” it as an artwork. So there exists a gap. My works are very much complicated. Situations differ for each visitor, and each visitor has his/her own idea about rooms. I can only say that visitors will be led to walk around inside my works, asking themselves, “is this any kind of artwork anymore?” In the end, there is no more question about art! Difference between life and art doesn’t exist any more.

― How do you perceive “rooms” as artworks?

For example, when you look at the paintings, you stand in front of the piece. Or when you look at the sculptures, you walk around them. But when you go inside the rooms, you are surrounded by the built room, there is always something behind you that you can’t see with your own eyes. That is the difference.Also, if you build a room inside a room, there will be a shadow between the walls of the original room and the new room. And the narrower the space between the walls , the darker those shadows between the walls become. I have been working on this, duplicating, multiplying walls and rooms, from the start of working on the《HAUS u r》in 1985.

And for Venice Biennale 2001 (※2) , I have demolished some parts of the《HAUS u r》that I made in my hometown Rheydt, and moved it to another place, Venice, for reconstruction.

―I have so far understood your basic ideas about visible/invisible, recognizable/non-recognizable, and how your works affect the visitors. Now my question is: Does each of your works implicate different things?

My first building work《HAUS u r》 began with very personal action, me actually living in that house. But it seems that since Venice Biennale, my works have begun to contain also social and political aspects.

Death

― How do you perceive “death”?

I see it as a scientific matter.

There is a work called 《TOTER RAUM(=DEAD SPACE)》. “Tot” means “death” in German. Here the German title contains a meaning of “hidden space” as an architectural term. So it means the space is “non-accessible”, “no-exit” or “dead-end”.

TOTER RAUM

I have constructed a “dead space”, just like constructing a bed room, a kitchen or a bathroom. For me, a “dead space” is not a special room, but a room that exists just like other rooms.

What I am trying to say is, that there is nothing that divides a life and an artwork. You can live in a room, and you can die in that room, too. Dying is the final process of life, and it’s a part of living. For me, dying is a sculptural process, and it is a challenge that each one of us has to face in a lifetime.

― So do you see your artwork as your own world?

No, not exactly as a world. My work is a constructed work, it is three-dimensional, and concrete. For me an artwork doesn’t exist if it is not constructed. So it is not a “world”, but it is something that I have worked on and constructed. Otherwise, I wouldn’t call it an artwork.

Construction is a way of getting close to the unknown

I have built a room called 《WHITE TORTURE ROOM》.

PASSAGEWAY

HIGH SECURITY AND ISOLATION CELL

I have created this room based on images from the secret U.S. prison camp 5 in Guantanamo Bay (※3). Since there is no way of entering the actual prison for due to strict security measures , I have collected information from the internet. I have been trying to create things that I don’t understand or rooms I can’t go inside.

By doing this, I get to know how it was made. And when I make something for the second time, it becomes clear why I did what I did when I made it for the first time.

You can see photos of prisons of Guantanamo, but you can’t go in there. So, the only way that I get close to it as a sculptor is to construct a replica, based on the information I have.

― What does constructing mean to you? Is it the same as thinking?

For me, constructing is one of the methods through which I accomplish my own self. It is also a process of understanding things. I created a work 《CUBE》inspired by the building (※4) in the Kaaba (※5). Through this experience, I could have a physical experience of standing in front of the black stone. This is how I approach things that are totally unknown and un-comprehensible. In this case, the doubling let the visitors reflect.

CUBE HAMBURG 2007

― Why are you making installations of hidden places? And why do you make things that you exhibit invisible? Are you doing this because it is impossible to make everything visible to everyone anyway?

Well, I can’t answer that question in general, because each work is different. For me the work exists there as is. That’s all.

Installation for Yokohama Triennale 2014

― Having just seen your installation down in the underground parking lot, I thought that your work gives us a sense of a more “closed” feeling than your prior works.

Well, also for me, the work is different than my works before, it’s new this time.

According to the Artistic Director of Yokohama Triennale 2014, Yasumasa Morimura, the main theme of this Yokohama Triennale is "oblivion". Is there anything in your work in the basement that relates to the word “oblivion”?

I don’t know if my work in the basement has something to do with “oblivion”, because my work this time is also completely new for me. Besides, like always, the work becomes absorbed by itself. Since starting off to create something is always an instinctive process, there are a lot of things that I myself don’t understand. In other words, I am doing things that are unknown to me. For me it is also interesting that I am here in Yokohama, creating again something abstract.

●GERMAN ANGST

I have made a space you can enter 24 hours a day, with a special entrance made for that space apart from the regular entrance. It is very difficult to create spaces like this since general museums are made to exhibit paintings or photos. But it’s also interesting for me to experience the conflict arisen in the process of realizing that kind of project.

As for the installation this time, I think it will be an interesting experience for the visitors to go and see the installation, dark and filled with mud, in the underground parking lot in a part of a museum space - a white cube for exhibition, and to be able to go into the mud and walk.

Gregor Schneider


〈Notes〉
※1 In 1985 he began dismantling and rebuilding rooms in an apartment building that his parents owned in Rheydt, while he actually lived in that house.

※2 Gregor Schneider won the first prize ( "Golden Lion" ) at the 49th Biennale in Venice.

※3 United States Army's prison camp located on south-east of Cuba, at Guantánamo Bay. Under President Bush, Since January 2002, it has been used as a camp for suspected terrorists, and taking in those who were arrested in Afghanistan or Iraq. Known for atrocious acts of torture, it has become an international human rights issue.

※4 the ancient stone building toward which Muslims from all over the world pray.

※5 Islam's most sacred mosque in Mecca

Translation:Kie Ichimura

関連するURL:http://www.gregorschneider.de/
関連記事